Written by on December 2, 2019

The crisis rocking the Taraba state House of Assembly has taken a new twist as the Speaker of the House Peter Diah has resigned his position.
Diah who is representing Mbamga constituency for the fifth time is the longest-serving legislator in the house.
Confirming his resignation to journalists in Jalingo on Sunday, Diah says he resigned for personal reasons.
He was elected the 8th speaker Taraba State House of Assembly following the inauguration of the Eighth Assembly in June 2015 and was re-elected speaker in April 2016 after the declaration for a rerun election in his constituency by the court of Appeal sitting in Yola.

The Taraba State House of Assembly has elected Joseph Kunini as the new Speaker of the House.
This followed the resignation of the former Speaker of the House, Abel Diah, and his deputy, Charles Maijankai.
The lawmakers also elected the member representing Bali II Constituency, Hammanadama Abdullahi, as the new Deputy Speaker of the House.
The former speaker and deputy speaker gave no reasons for resigning from their offices.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track